Boosted!

By Hannah Blaze

This past semester, you have probably noticed a growing number of Miami Students zooming around campus on what looks like a skateboard on steroids. No, these boards are not your average skateboard or longboard, this high-tech mode of transportation is called a Boosted Board.

Screen Shot 2017-11-08 at 8.11.30 PM
Boosted Boards via Instagram

The company behind the board originally started a Kickstarter campaign back in 2012. They passed their original goal of $100,000 substantially, raising a whopping $467,000 from backers. The company has only continued to grow from there, and the board has been hugely popularized thanks to coverage by big-time YouTube personalities like Casey Neistat and Jesse Wellens.

Screen Shot 2017-11-08 at 8.13.11 PM
Casey Neistat (ft. Karlie Kloss) via Instagram

The electric skateboard is battery powered and controlled with a remote, which allows you to switch between four modes, depending on how advanced of a rider you are. The board tops out at a speedy 22 mph, and you can choose between a ‘Standard’ or ‘Extended’ range battery.

I caught up with one of Miami’s own Boosted Boarder’s, Noah Borts, and asked him a few questions about his wheels!

IMG_7458
Courtesy of Noah Borts

UP: What made you buy a Boosted Board in the first place?

Noah: I was looking at buying a car, but wanted an eco-friendly way to get around campus that wouldn’t require me to pay for parking. I never thought of Boosted until my roommates showed me an advertisement of the original Boosted Board.

UP: How often do you use your Boosted Board?

Noah: I use it every day, multiple times a day. The only thing that keeps me from riding is rain and snow.

UP: Have you ever fallen off?!

Noah: I have slipped off, but never fallen on the ground. When it rains, the red brick on High Street becomes very slippery. My board will not go but I will, luckily I catch myself usually before yard-saling.

UP: Do you think more people will continue to hop on the Boosted trend?

Noah: Since I bought my board a year ago, I see more and more people riding around on Boosted Boards. As the company grows from its Kickstarter roots, more people will see it as an everyday product.

Noah also stated that overall, “[He] thinks Boosted has achieved the fundamental aspect of a great company: offering a perfected product. [He] believes that electric transportation will continue its growing trend and the firms making superior products, will succeed.”

Boosted Boards provide a fun and eco-friendly alternative for getting to your classes on time. Although they do come at a hefty base price of $1299, the investment may be worth it, especially if you plan on living in a big city one day! Like Noah said though- just be careful zooming up High Street!!