“For Freedom. For Justice. For All.”

By Meg Scott

Not many people know about the Global Citizen’s Music Festival. This yearly festival happens every year in Central Park (yup, NYC) and invites tons of famous superstars to perform and/or speak on behalf of an important issue going on in the world. I was lucky enough to attend this festival this past weekend.

You might be confused why I’m saying “lucky” because concerts usually involve buying a ticket, but believe it or not the tickets were 100% free to this event. In fact, you had to win them through doing a series of tasks- anything from tweeting about gender discrimination to calling your senator and asking for support to fund foreign aid.

Now I realize I might have you even more confused, so let’s take another step back.

Global Citizen is a social action platform dedicated to creating a community who wants to solve some of the world’s biggest challenges like hunger, education, finance, environment, etc. This organization is backed by major companies like MSNBC, GUCCI, HP, P&G, Google, and also celebrities like Chris Martin, Kendrick Lamar, Dianna Agron, Ellie Goulding and more!

I don’t know about you, but I’d love to be apart of such an amazing cause, so it makes sense that a lot of musicians feel the same way, and the festival’s lineup was therefore amazing this year (as always).

First off, Hugh Jackman and Priyanka Chopra hosted… enough said. While the musical lineup itself consisted of…

  • Alessia Cara
  • Big Sean
  • Pharrell Williams
  • Andra Day
  • The Lumineers
  • The Killers
  • The Chainsmokers
  • Green Day
  • Stevie Wonder

Pretty stacked if you ask me.

So there I was, one of 60,000 people crammed onto Central Park’s lawn but let me assure you, I was not disappointed. The entire atmosphere was uplifting, the weather was perfect, and each musical act was everything I’d hoped. Check out some of my favorite moments below!

P.S please ignore the shaky hands and singing along (I swear it wasn’t me)