3 Decor DIY’s for the Frugal Fashionista

By Hannah Blaze

Let’s face it… college students don’t have endless money to blow on chic decor items for our dorms or apartments. However, we still want to make our rooms look as trendy as possible. That’s where I step in- I’ve put together three glam DIY’s that are not only extremely cheap but will leave your room looking Insta-worthy! Who says we can’t have the best of both worlds?

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset
Courtesy of UP Magazine

 

1 // DIY Accent Wall – In my opinion, there is nothing better than a glamorous accent wall, full of framed decor. This look is perfect for hanging above your bed or couch. For my gallery wall, I decided to go with a minimalistic black and white theme. I created ¾ of them on Adobe Illustrator by simply redesigning ones I found on Pinterest. I decided to go with a theme featuring Saint Laurent, Coco Chanel, and a ‘New York’ take on the famous Prada Marfa sign. Once I was done, I printed my smaller pieces out on standard 8.5×11 paper. For my Saint Laurent Piece, I went to a copy shop to get it printed on 11×17 paper. I then placed them in frames that cost about $6.00 each. The “Why Hello” piece was on sale at Hobby Lobby for only $8.00- You can easily recreate a similar stunning wall display for less than $30.00.

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset
Courtesy of UP Magazine

 

2 // Mason Jars for Trendy & Functional Storage – We all have those stubborn little products that never seem to find their place in our home. What is my solution? Put them in Mason Jars. I found these adorable gold-accented jars at Hobby Lobby for around $2.00 each and bought a bunch. I use them for everything- storing cotton swabs, scrunchies, and even utensils. They also make the best makeup brush holders. Anything you put in them instantly becomes trendy, and you can buy a bunch for next to nothing!

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset
Courtesy of UP Magazine

 

3 // Grid Desk Display – With the amount of time that we all spend hitting the books at our desks, it should be enjoyable to look at. My favorite decor piece for my desk is this on-trend grid display. I found this metal grid on Amazon for only $8.75. There are so many things you can hang on it, but I decided to do half pictures and half glasses. I downloaded all of my pictures from Tumblr and tried to use photos that complimented each other nicely. Another great option would be to hang Polaroid pictures of you and your friends. To put the pictures on the grid, I simply attached them with miniature gold binder clips. I then gathered some of my favorite pairs of glasses and hung them on the other half. This is a piece that every fashion blogger has in their house at the moment and is easy to recreate.

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset
Courtesy of UP Magazine

Watch your space totally transform with any one of these awesome DIY’s- all without breaking the bank.

If you do decide to recreate any of these looks, make sure to snap a pic and show us at @upfashionmag!