5 Makeup Must-Haves for Your Spring/Summer

By Hannah Blaze

Spring and summer are my favorite times of the year when it comes to makeup looks. It seems to be the season when everyone lightens up their routine and goes for gorgeous looks that are slightly on the more natural side. I have been obsessed with all of the beautiful bronzed, glowy, and blushed looks that have been super popular lately.

My go-to makeup this spring has been dewy foundation, plenty of highlight, soft, feathery brows, just a dash of mascara, and finished off with berry blush and a pink gloss. It’s super simplistic looking, but I find that it accentuates my natural features so well, which I love. I have been going very light on the eye makeup recently, as I find the natural look to work so well in the spring and summer time, and save the heavy and dramatic looks for fall and winter.

There have been so many amazing new products that have been released that will really help you achieve that gorgeous natural, glowing look. Here are five products that I highly recommend splurging on for this spring/summer:

1.) Carli Bybel Eyeshadow and Highlighter Palette

Screen Shot 2017-04-16 at 6.28.15 PM
BH Cosmetics via Instagram

If you have read any of my blogs before, you know that I am beyond obsessed with Carli Bybel. I find her to be one of the most amazing beauty guru’s out there, and I am so grateful that she has designed such a stunning, yet crazy affordable palette. The palette comes with 10 eyeshadows that include blushed and warm brown tones, perfect for creating super simplistic, yet gorgeous eye looks. It also comes with four different highlighters, and, wait for it—it’s only $14.50!!!!!! This is honestly such a summer must-have. You cannot beat the price and the colors are amazing.

2.) ColourPop Simply Sand Kit

Screen Shot 2017-04-16 at 6.30.55 PM
ColourPop Cosmetics via Instagram

This is another kit where you get a lot of bang for your buck. You get four awesome eyeshadow colors (three matte and one metallic) that have warm, sandy tones, which I absolutely love for this time of the year. You also get three gorgeous lip colors  (one satin, one matte, and one glossy) so you can keep switching it up! This is a great kit if you are like me and want to go for a more neutral look this season! It costs $30.00.

3.) Dandelion Twinkle Nude-Pink Powder Highlighter & Luminizer

Screen Shot 2017-04-16 at 6.35.26 PM
Benefit Cosmetics via Instagram

I have been obsessed lately with all things pink/rosey, so I squealed a little when I saw this new highlighter from Benefit. It is a nude pink highlighter that is ‘perfect for highlighting and brightening for a luminous and girly glow.’ I think pink toned products, especially highlighters, can look super gorgeous on all skin tones, and goes SO well with a stunning bronzed look, which is why it is so perfect for summer when we are all tanned up!! It is $29.00.

4.) GALifornia Sunny Golden Pink Blush

Screen Shot 2017-04-16 at 6.37.47 PM
Benefit Cosmetics via Instagram

Going along with what I just said about being obsessed with pink, rosey tones lately, I have also been obsessed with blush! I never really used to wear blush, but for some reason this season, I don’t think I could live without it! I feel like blush just gives everyone such a stunning, innocent look and adds the perfect amount of color to your face. I saw this blush, and first off, I think I died when I saw the packaging because it’s probably one of the coolest packages on a cosmetic product that I have ever seen (Benefit seriously kills the game when it comes to designs like these). And secondly, I was obsessed with the idea of having a blush mixed with a golden illuminator. I feel like the mixture would give you the most beautiful sun-kissed looking glow, and it is definitely on my must-have list for the season. Also, if you buy it now on Ulta’s website, you can get a free gift with purchase!! The blush itself is $29.00 🙂

5.) Too Faced Natural Love Ultimate Neutral Eyeshadow Palette

Screen Shot 2017-04-16 at 6.41.58 PM
Too Faced via Instagram

Wow, I honestly don’t even know where to begin with this one. Too Faced has come out with a limited edition palette full of THIRTY ~stunning~ colors!! There are 7 matte, 13 metallic, and 10 sparkly colors, and some are shades pulled from a few of their best-selling palettes! It’s a mix of blush and sandy tones (which I think we have well established by now that I have been drooling over lately) and there is also a great mixture between super light, and subtle colors, as well as more dark, and dramatic tones. It seems like such a versatile palette, but all still very natural and complementary. The palette is $59, however, in my opinion, I definitely believe it’s worth it.

There are so many other amazing palettes and kits out right now that are perfect for this season. If you have the chance (and your bank account balance isn’t so low that you tear up every time you check it) I definitely recommend checking out Ulta and Sephora for new products. This is really the best time to lighten up your products and experiment with new looks!! It’s Spring—be fresh, be flirty, be fun!!!

Leave a Reply

