Best Healthy Dorm Snacks

By Hannah Blaze

screen-shot-2017-01-22-at-2-54-56-pm
 Courtesy of FullyRawKristina 

I have only been at college for a little over a semester now, but I have found it extremely hard to stay on a healthy track! There are so many tempting options all around me, and the constant stress of college always has me wanting to eat any form of junk food that I can get my hands on. It’s all so bad, but slowly but surely I have been incorporating much healthier options. One of the biggest things I have found to help is keeping only healthy food stocked in my room. That way, I have zero temptations around me and my only option is to eat well. Here are my favorite foods to keep stocked at all times!

1. Fruit

I love fruit because it’s super good for you and satisfies your sweet tooth at the same time. I try to get fruits that don’t really require prep like grapes or pre-sliced apples. I just find it a bit unconventional to try to slice and dice things like mangos or pineapple in your room.

2. Rice Cakes

Rice cakes are an easy snack that I feel like a lot of people forget about. They’re super yummy, come in a ton of different flavors, they’re super low in calories, and are a great alternative to greasy snack foods like chips!

3. Veggies & Hummus

Veggies and hummus may be my all time favorite healthy snack combo. There are soooo many good vegetables that go with hummus, so you can always switch it up. My personal favorites are carrots & celery with the Sabra Roasted Red Pepper hummus. So delish!

4. Popcorn

Ah popcorn… you can literally never go wrong with popcorn. As long as you get a kind that isn’t loaded with butter, this can be such a great and filling snack! I personally love the pre-popped Skinny Pop kind, but any healthy type will do.

5. Greek Yogurt

Greek yogurt is the perfect healthy grab-and-go snack for those tragic 8 a.m. classes. They come in literally a million flavors so you can always switch it up, which is great. Also, greek yogurt is filled with probiotics and vitamin B12 which is perfect for keeping your energy up and ensuring that your body is running smoothly.

If you also struggle with staying healthy in college, definitely try stocking up on some good, clean snacks. They will help keep you on track and prevent you from leaning towards any unnecessary junk food runs. Good luck!

 

Leave a Reply

