How To Make Your Makeup Last All Day Long

By Hannah Blaze

With formal recruitment right around the corner, there will be plenty of us girls standing around for hours on end, needing our makeup to last as long as possible. If you struggle with keeping your look in place all day long, here are a few of my favorite tips on ensuring that it does not budge!

screen-shot-2017-01-22-at-1-37-40-pm
Benefit via Instagram

Prime Your Face:

A good face primer is the key to making sure your makeup stays tight—you need something for your foundation to stick to! I personally love Benefit’s POREfessional primer because not only does it help your makeup stay on, but it really helps minimize the appearance of pores, giving your face a much more flawless appearance.

 

screen-shot-2017-01-22-at-1-33-46-pm
Urban Decay via Instagram

Prime Your Eyelids:

I always find that eyeshadow is by far the hardest thing to stay put on my face. If I were to just put eyeshadow on my eyes, within the hour it would become a greasy, smeared mess. However, by putting Urban Decay’s Primer Potion on my lids, I can easily go the entire day without any smearing! It’s a little on the pricey side for just a small tube of primer, but I swear it is so worth it.

 

screen-shot-2017-01-22-at-1-42-55-pm
Rossio Store via Instagram

Bake Your Face:

If you do not keep up with the crazy beauty trends there are these days, you’re probably extremely confused about what I mean by this—but I swear it will do wonders for your makeup. Baking is basically taking a loose setting powder, putting a heavy amount on all of the places your makeup tends to get smudgy/greasy after a while, let it sit for about 5-10 minutes to let the heat of your skin “bake” the powder into place, and then wipe off the excess with a fluffy brush. Your skin will look so smooth and flawless after, and your makeup will stay on for much, much longer. This is also a great trick for any of you with oily skin because it helps a lot with oil control! I do have to say you must be careful of what powder you use, because certain ones may leave a white cast on your face if you take any pictures with flash. I personally use Ben Nye’s Banana Powder mixed with a bit of baby powder (the banana powder is just a bit too dark to use by itself on my skin, so baby powder helps lighten it up) and I have never had any problems with looking like a ghost in pics. Another very popular choice is Laura Mercier’s Translucent Setting Powder, but it is a bit more expensive.

 

screen-shot-2017-01-22-at-1-36-22-pm
Urban Decay via Instagram

Splurge on a Good Setting Spray:

In my opinion, a good setting spray is truly the key to ensuring your makeup lasts as long as possible. My holy grail setting spray is, and forever will be, the Urban Decay All Nighter. Just a few sprits around my face, and I feel confident that my makeup will always look great when I get home. I also find that this spray just overall makes my skin look super nice and glowy, which is an awesome added bonus. If you are going to purchase any item that I have mentioned throughout, this is definitely the item that I would get.

Whether it’s for a long day of recruitment or a night Uptown with your friends, if you follow all of these tips, I can assure you that your makeup will not be going anywhere any time soon!

Leave a Reply

