5 Ways to Relax and Unwind During Winter Break

By Hannah Blaze

I’m not sure about any of you, but finals really did a number on me and my sanity. Never have I ever been so tired and drained, and I am thrilled to have the next five weeks to be able to relax and unwind. If any of you are lost on what to do with yourself during break, here are five things that will be sure to help you decompress!

screen-shot-2016-12-20-at-9-32-41-pm
Courtesy of Kim Kardashian via Instagram

Sleep:

I know this one seems like an obvious thing to do, but I really encourage everyone to get as much sleep as they possibly can. I’m sure we have all been deprived an unbelievable amount during these past few weeks, and it’s so important to try to catch up on our much needed Z’s. Sleep is the one thing that can really help everyone completely recuperate from the hectic semester, so I highly recommend getting every hour you can!

screen-shot-2016-12-20-at-9-37-00-pm
Courtesy of Romee Strijd via Instagram

Have a GNO:

I’m sure we all love our college friends, but there is something so nice about going home and seeing all of your old besties. Going out with all of your girls and catching up on life is a great way to unwind and destress. Try going to one of your favorite old restaurants for a nostalgic feel, or, if you all are in the mood, go to a place that none of you have ever been to before to create new memories!

screen-shot-2016-12-20-at-9-52-17-pm
Courtesy of Behati Prinsloo via Instagram

Treat Yourself to A Spa Night:

Nothing says relaxing and unwinding like a good, old fashioned spa night. Buy a nice face mask, break out the mani/pedi supplies, pour yourself a glass of wine (if you are of age!!), and spend the night relaxing and watching your favorite Netflix series. I promise you will feel like a new person afterwards!

screen-shot-2016-12-20-at-9-38-59-pm
Courtesy of Elsa Hosk via Instagram

Work Out:

I gained a lot from my first semester at college—friends, knowledge, and unfortunately, weight. Luckily I have a great gym here at home that I most definitely plan on taking advantage of. Working out is a great way to relieve stress and boost your energy, all while helping you get a killer body. It’s seriously the perfect winter break activity that I highly recommend everyone join in on!

screen-shot-2016-12-20-at-9-55-37-pm
Courtesy of Lucy Liu via Instagram

Do Arts & Crafts:

One thing I have missed more than anything at college has been the access to an art supplies store. I absolutely love doing any type of arts and crafts and find it to be such a fun way to unwind and de-stress. If you’re ever bored, go pick up a canvas and some paints at the store and get crafty! Even better, get your friends in on it too and have a paint party!

There are so many other things that you could do to help you unwind and relax, all while keeping you busy during break. Hopefully this list was of help to anyone stuck on what to do! As always, thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

