Button UP

By Megan Ashdown

Who would’ve thought that one of my favorite staples could be found in my boyfriend’s closet? Ever since I stole his white button-up, I haven’t been able to take it off. No, seriously…I’d probably be wearing it right now if it weren’t in the washer. It’s comfortable, it’s oversized, and best of all it’s versatile.

I always recommend a leather pairing, but for those of you who prefer a classic look, try tucking the blouse into a mini skirt or denim pants. If you want classic with a twist, my advice to you is this: don’t evenly tuck the shirt into your bottoms. The messy look is perfectly acceptable, too.

freely_born
Courtesy of @freely_born

If your {boyfriend’s} shirt is large enough, style it as a dress. To refrain from looking like you walked right out of Risky Business, pair with over-the-knee boots. That leads me to my next point…please, please, please, whatever you do, don’t tie your button-up in the front to create a crop top. Save that for country night at Brick. Instead, transform the button-up into a strapless shirt for subtle sex appeal.

Bottom line: Be creative and make basic menswear your own.

vergegirl
Courtesy of @vergegirl
popcornandmadness
Courtesy of @popcornandmadness

 

Leave a Reply

