The Frequencies of Kid Cudi

By Tyler Aberle

artworks-000154090500-89ed4m-t500x500_cmgpp8
Courtesy of Fader

The pursuit of happiness can follow many different paths. For Kid Cudi, it has taken him on a journey of temporary, diluted highs and all-time lows. Last week, Cudi checked himself into rehab for suicidal urges and depression. He put out a post on Facebook the other night saying, “Yesterday I checked myself into rehab for depression and suicidal urges… I am not at peace. I haven’t been since you’ve known me. If I didn’t come here, I would’ve done something to myself. I simply am a damaged human swimming in a pool of emotions everyday of my life.”

The very next week, his label released the video to his latest single, Frequency. After everything going on with Cudi, many believe that this is a glimpse into the struggles that he has been facing these past years. The video starts with a silhouette shot of his head that alludes to all of the video being what is going on in his mind. From the visuals of the production and the lyrics themselves, they show an intriguing high that he experiences through drugs and women. While it may be intriguing, they also promote a disturbing vibe that may present how these actions are what Kid Cudi is trying to get away from. At the end of the day the activities described are temporary and unfulfilling good times, and as Cudi said in his post, he wants to find the internal happiness that he has always desired.