5 Reasons to Go Buy Coconut Oil ASAP

By Hannah Blaze

Coconut oil is one of my favorite things on this planet. It’s one of the most multifunctional products I’ve ever used that will positively benefit you no matter what you do with it. It’s relatively cheap and a little goes a long way, which is great for us college students. If you have yet to jump on the coconut oil bandwagon, here are five reasons why you should definitely consider stocking up next time you go on a grocery run!

 

screen-shot-2016-10-16-at-11-17-02-pm
Courtesy of Plant Therapy

 

1. It’s The Greatest All-Over Lotion

I literally apply coconut oil all over my body every single day. People who first start using it may be a little turned off by how greasy you may feel when you apply it, but I can assure you the feeling will go away within a few minutes! Also, to anyone who has pretty oily skin on their face already and fear that putting more oil on it will just make it worse, I have actually noticed that once I started applying coconut oil, it really regulated out my skin’s oil production! I also love the fact that coconut oil is literally made from just coconuts—you know exactly what you’re putting on your skin and it’s not a bunch of crazy chemicals you can’t pronounce.

2. You Can Use It As A Conditioning Mask

With all of the bleaching I put my hair through, it’s destined to forever be dry, and the colder weather coming in is not going to help this tragic dilemma. My favorite thing to do to combat this is to apply a coconut oil mask. All you do is slap some coconut oil on your hair (remember a little goes a long way), focusing it more towards the ends, let it sit for a few hours (I prefer doing this at night when I know I have time in the morning to shower), and then shampoo twice to make sure you get all of the oil out! I promise you your hair will look shinier and feel a million times softer in the morning.

3. It’s An Amazing Eye Makeup Remover

Waterproof mascara is amazing until it comes to taking it off. Then it becomes the absolute worst product ever to be created. Luckily, if you didn’t know this before, coconut oil makes an amazing eye makeup remover! I use it all the time and it never fails to take my mascara off with such ease. My only warning is that you shouldn’t do this while wearing contacts because sometimes a little bit of oil may get in your eye!

4. You Can Use It as Shaving Cream

This is definitely one of my favorite uses for coconut oil. All you do is apply it on your legs, either in or out of the shower, and then just shave away! The great thing about coconut oil is that it won’t clog up your razor like other creams will, and it will give you a much much closer shave, which is also super nice. And then, when you’re done, you don’t even need to apply any extra lotion because the oil will do the moisturizing for you!

5. It Can Whiten Your Teeth

Oil pulling has become one of the biggest trends in Hollywood. All the stars are doing it, and I highly recommend you do it too! Oil pulling is a process that can remove bacteria from your mouth and help give you an overall healthier and whiter smile! How it works is you take a spoonful (about a tablespoon) worth of coconut oil and swish it around in your mouth for anywhere from 10-20 minutes. As you swish around, the oil will literally be pulling all of the icky toxins out of your mouth, leaving it feeling much cleaner and healthier than before! After a few rounds of doing this you will definitely see a big difference in your smile!

As you can see, there are so many benefits to coconut oil. I seriously swear by it. And honestly, the list does not end here—there are countless other uses for this amazing product and I really recommend buying some if you don’t already have it! This is one purchase you will not regret!

Leave a Reply

