Chunk UP Your Heels This Spring

By Vivian Drury

When it comes to my style, comfort always takes the cake. Now I’m not saying I only like to sit in sweatpants and t-shirts but, for me, fashion is about feeling good in what you’re wearing and rocking it. Super high heels definitely lie outside of my comfort zone. Not only am I incredibly klutzy and often find myself constantly falling, nothing’s worse than taking your shoes off at the end of the night and your feet are covered in blisters and bruises. I know they say beauty is pain, but I like to think that beauty is something that should make you feel good!

As spring slowly breezes into our lives, we can finally shove our parkas to the back of our closets and shop for fun, daring new spring styles. For shoes this season, chunky heels are back and killing the fashion scene. What’s great about chunky heels is that because they have a thicker heel, they’re easier to walk in and still look fabulous.

5
Courtesy of Babble

Along with chunky heels, neutral colors are a big trend this spring. If you’re looking for a basic yet still fun heel, nude chunky heels are perfect! They go with any outfit and are super comfortable. Some of my favorite chunky heels in nude colors are these Steve Madden block heel pumps and the Steve Madden Carrson sandal. I love the Carrson sandal because the ankle strap adds a trendy touch, making them easy to dress up or down.

1
Courtesy of Nordstrom
2
Courtesy of Nordstrom

My wardrobe is filled with color. I love to mix patterns and prints to see what looks good. When it comes to shoes, feel free to be bold! Go for the pump that’s both edgy and spring-y for a fun night out. I’m in love with these Charles David Greensboro lace-up teal heels because they’re so different. They look great with any skin tone because the color is guaranteed to pop off of your skin. The spring color and braided detail will make it stick out from anything else in your closet! Going back to Steve Madden, these neon Serrina block heels bring back those electric ’80s vibes without being over the top.

3
Courtesy of Nordstrom
4
Courtesy of Nordstrom

My ultimate spring trend obsession is the lace-up chunky heel. I’m a huge gladiator sandal fan, so I love lace-up heels because they are a little bit dressier. Steve Madden’s line is clearly killing the game this spring, especially with the Christey wraparound block heel. These heels are so dramatic and add a real statement to an outfit. Kendall and Kylie Jenner’s Saree fringe lace up heel is also one of my favorite because the fringe makes it really different. These have a very fun, summer festival vibe.

4
Courtesy of Nordstrom
5
Courtesy of Nordstrom

Any chunky heel will make you look killer this spring! Also, be sure to check out UP’s spring issue on April 20th!

Leave a Reply

