Wavves Crash Into Lollapalooza 2016 Lineup

By Maddie Wood

If you’re anything like me, you’re stuck in the glorious past when it comes to your taste in music. Pregames aren’t nearly as fun without tons of throwbacks that invoke wonderful nostalgia. I can’t get enough of 2000s music, especially those angsty alternative groups your parents loved to hate: Blink-182, Green Day, My Chemical Romance, Panic! At The Disco, etc. As much as I love these gutsy guy groups, I realize it’s time to focus my attention on the next decade of music makers. Despite searching the internet for hours, I was never able to find an alternative group equivalent to the previous bands, until I heard Wavves.

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 9.47.02 PM.png
Courtesy of howlandechoes.com

I’m pleased to announce that I will be attending Lollapalooza 2016 in the beautiful Windy City. I tend to steer clear of concerts/ festivals because my favorite bands are just a distant memory (sad, I know), but I decided to bite the bullet this year and spend my life savings of a four-day pass. While my inner ’90s rock fan is pumped for headliners Red Hot Chili Peppers and Radiohead, I’m almost more excited to hear San Diego based Wavves perform.

Their new-age approach to the pop-punk genre offers fresh sounds while drawing influence from those sacred early 2000s bands. Wavves was formed in 2008 by singer-songwriter Nathan Williams and currently includes guitar player Alex Bates, drummer Brian Hill, and bass guitar player Stephen Pope. Since 2008, Wavves has released five studio albums: their self-titled debut Wavves, sophomore effort Wavvves, King of the Beach, Afraid of Heights, V, and combined album with Cloud Nothings, No Life for Me.

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 11.03.21 PM.png
Courtesy of wavvesband.bandcamp.com

Despite tumultuous band relations and various struggles with drug and alcohol abuse, Wavves has emerged stronger than ever on their recent tour to support V.

While I think all of their music is pure genius, I’m especially a fan of the track “I Wanna Meet Dave Grohl” off their EP Life Sux. Granted, I believe Dave Grohl can do no wrong, but this song is amazing regardless. The upbeat, punchy sound is perfect for a car-ride with the windows down or an all out sing along in the shower.

 

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 11.06.20 PM.png
Courtesy of youtube.com

Another favorite is one of their more popular songs, “Way Too Much.” This tune feels like a day on the beach waiting to happen – it instantly puts anyone listening in a good mood without being the typical bubble gum pop sound. I  can’t wait to hear what Wavves has to offer live this summer!

 

 

Leave a Reply

