Opulent Orange Eyeshadow

By Phoebe Myers

Generally, I like to stick with traditional colors when it comes to eyeshadow. I think a lot of make-up loving people are in the same boat I am. Taupes and browns look good on everyone, and there’s nothing too offbeat about them. The safe choice is clearly evident by the insane popularity of Urban Decay’s Naked Palettes. Don’t get me wrong, those are some seriously gorgeous colors, but I decided to switch up my look when I saw this photo of Cara Delevigne.

Cara-Delevingne2_glamour_6jul15_getty_b_960x1440
Picture from Glamour UK

I mean seriously, how gorgeous is that?

I decided to try some myself, and ordered a pot from ColourPop. I got the color Shop, a darker, more red orange. They also have a lighter, more coral orange I haven’t tried, called Animal. (By the way, ColourPop isn’t paying me to write this or anything, my opinions are my own.) And now, you guys get to see me try it!

SuperShockShadow-Shop-300x300
  Super Shock Shadow in Shop

To get this look I first did a layer of a light brown, then used my fingers to put the orange Shop from the middle to the outside corners of my eye. I was pretty subdued with the amount, because I didn’t know how bright the orange would be. I love the way it turned out! I think it’s a good interpretation for everyday wear.

IMG_2747
Even if you’re not Cara…
IMG_2749
you can still rock orange eyeshadow. 

 It really warms up your whole face. If you want to play it a little more daring than me, and even incorporate some red for a more fiery look, go to the fabulous Rookiemag.com for a tutorial. (Also it’s a good comparison for any readers with darker skin than me or Cara.)

1396987470curseofthegoldenflower-580x317
Gong Li as the Empress in Curse of the Golden Flower
14405bdc0f30b2f0cde392fcb2aafdd9
Image from Beautylish

 

Leave a Reply

