Christmas outfits for everyone

Coming home for six weeks meant basically moving out of school and back into my parents’ home.  Packing was a nightmare so I told myself to just bring everything. Now that I’m home I’m still saying the classic “I have nothing to wear!”  I’m searching for the perfect outfits for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day and I’m feeling underwhelmed with what I’ve brought home.  I can’t imagine I’m the only one so I decided to put together some outfits that made it easier to navigate my closet and find the perfect pairings for the various styled gatherings I’ll be going to.

1.  For the lazy night before Christmas Eve with your hometown friends.  Classic denim and Chuck Taylors paired with a plaid button-up under a chunky sweater.  You can’t go wrong here.

Screen Shot 2014-12-21 at 11.41.40 PM

Sweater | Button-up | Jeans | Chucks

2.  For the Christmas Eve Open House at your neighbors’ house.  Have a little fun with a sequined top, velvet shirt and classic black heels.  Keep jewelry simple with pearls or gold studs and go find a certain someone under the mistletoe!

Screen Shot 2014-12-21 at 11.42.02 PM

Top | Skirt | Heels (similar) | Earrings (similar)

3.  For Christmas Day, no matter the dress code.  This plaid dress is perfect for mass in the morning with simple nude pumps, but then you can dress it down with sheer tights and black flats for Christmas dinner at grandma’s!

Screen Shot 2014-12-21 at 11.42.12 PM

Dress | Pumps (similar) | Flats | Necklace

4.  Make a spin on your everyday look work even on the holiday.  My choice for this Christmas 2014 is texture on texture.  Pair a simple chambray button-up with festively-colored cords (dressed down) or a textured skirt (like the ‘my choice’ option from Loft that I’ll be sporting).  Pair either with your favorite ankle booties, flats or heels.  Add a chunky scarf or necklace with a festive theme for even more texture and you’re ready to go!

Screen Shot 2014-12-21 at 11.42.24 PM

 

Chambray | Cords | Skirt (similar) (my choice) | Booties

What will you be sporting this holiday season?

-Molly Dougherty

Leave a Reply

